Kautilya Societies are student initiatives in universities across the country aimed at widening access to legislative drafting and analysis and empowering young minds to explore public policy as a career path. Kautilya Society students conduct legal research to identify gaps in law, policy, governance or regulation, and contribute to public policy discourse by hosting discussions and events on recent legal policy developments.

The societies, set up by the Vidhi Centre for Legal Policy, are currently in eight law schools across the country and compose of around 100 students.

Kautilya Society Chapters

1. National University of Juridical Sciences, West Bengal
2. NALSAR (National Academy of Legal Studies and Research) University of Law, Hyderabad
3. National Law School of India University, Bengaluru
4. National Law University, Odisha
5. Symbiosis Law School, Pune
6. Dr. Ram Manohar Lohiya National Law University, Lucknow
7. Hidayatullah National Law University, Raipur
8. Gujarat National Law University, Gandhinagar